Club News

Back to News


Posted: 23-Apr-2018 by Cricket Senior

Barr the star in Saffer win


Eli Barr has capped a fantastic all-round season to claim his maiden Ray Saffer Medal at the Maccabi Ajax Cricket Club’s annual awards night.

Barr finished the count on 18 votes, just ahead of young gun Aaron Ostilly on 17 votes and Josh Jones on 16. 

Barr was “shocked and honoured to receive the award”, and said the result came as a complete surprise.

The former 3rd XI premiership captain had a typically consistent season with the ball, claiming 19 wickets at an average of 12.47 with best figures of 4-13.

It was with the bat though where he took his game to the next level this season, scoring 117 runs at an average of 13 which included a record-breaking partnership.

In other significant news, it was announced that the Hans Spitz Award for best clubman has been renamed the Paul Fink Award.

Club legend Fink was at a loss for words when the announcement was made, but said the club “means everything to him”.

Recently retired West Australian cricketer Michael Klinger presented the rising star award via video to Aaron Ostilly.

Ostilly had a standout first full season of senior cricket, claiming 21 wickets to go with 191 runs.

The event was well attended by current and past players and began with a detailed presentation by Ben Sternfeld on the history of the club.

Ian Jones’ contribution to the club was recognised with the retiring 3rd XI captain receiving Life Membership.


All award winners:

Ray Saffer medallist- Club Champion: Eli Barr

Leonard Burman Club Championship- Outsanding 1st XI Cricketer: Benji Jones

Michael Klinger Award- Rising Star: Aaron Ostilly

Rob Lourie Award- Most Determined Cricketer: Eli Barr

Harry Newhouse Award- Most Dedicated Trainer: Adam Back

Les Kausman Award- Most Consistent Cricketer: Simon Fisher

Ernie Adler Award- Most Improved Cricketer: Dean Wainstein

Kurt Defris Award- Oustanding Service to the Club: Mark Soffer

Hans Spitz Award- Best Clubman: Steven Lustig

Shawne Rubenstein Award- Best Fieldsman: Levi Rosenbaum


Batting and Bowling Awards:

1st XI Batting Award: Benji Jones (304 runs @ 25.33)

2nd XI Batting Award: Steven Lustig (205 runs @ 17.08)

1st XI Bowling Award: Simon Fisher (24 wickets @ 14.29)

3rd XI Bowling Award: Dean Wainstein (25 wickets @ 8.08)

Team of the year:

Steven Lustig, Mark Soffer, Benji Jones (c), Charlie Gross, Benji Gore, Aaron Ostilly, Corey Zielinski, Josh Jones, Levi Rosenbaum (+), Simon Fisher, Dean Wainstein, Ian Jones (12th man)