State News

Back to News

Maccabi WA Awards for 2018 announced

Posted: 18-Oct-2019 by Maccabi WA

We were honoured to have Councillor Suzanne Migdale present our awards for us this year. We were also very fortunate to have Barbara Sharp in WA to present the Ivan Sharp award for Administraiton.

We are proud to announce the winners;

Maurice Krasenstein Junior Sportsperson of the Year Award (Outstanding Jewish and or Maccabi Junior Sportswoman or Sportsman of the year award in junior category)  Recipient – Daniel Katz - Soccer

 U14 State team for soccer represented WA at Coffs Harbour, WA State Team Under 14  participated in Coffs Harbour representing ECU Joondalup NPL  Under 14 - winners of cup tournament which took place over a few weekends during the soccer season. ECU Joondalup NPL Under 15 - Winners of the NPL season

Ethel Finkelstein Rising Star Award Recipient - Daniel Levin - Chess

Daniel has won the following titles in 2018:  Chess association of WA's under 8's chess champion.,Chess Association of WA's under 8's Allegro chess champion.,Chess Association of WA's Students championship first place for under 8's.

Joe Rosen Most Outstanding Performance by an individual or team playing for Maccabi WA

Recipients - Futsal team participating & winning overall at Maccabi Carnival 2019 in the futsal competion Joshua Fuhr, Michael Schaffer, Natan Shuffrin, Jordan Hamburger, Elay Gloozman & Ron Ferraro (QLD)

Justin Sandler Memorial Awards for Junior Carnival 2018 for participation, good sportsmanship and fair play. Recipient - Oliver Stein 

Ryan Burns memorial Award for Junior Carnival 2018 for participation, good sportsmanship and fair play Recipient - Mia Bechar

Joe Rosen Most Outstanding Performance by an individual playing for Maccabi WA (Senior)  Recipient - Malcolm Levin -  Masters swimming

Australian National Championship
Two bronze medals as an individual I.e. third in the country at a National Championship.
Three silver medals and one bronze medal in relays.
Part of the relay team that broke the WA state record.
Ranked in the top 10 in Australia in his age group taking all events and all strokes into account. This is an outstanding achievement.

Ivan Sharp Administrator of the Year Award: Recipient - Belinda Wolpert – MPP (Maccabi Member Protection Administration)

Member protection supports Maccabi’s vision of a culture that protects all its members, including its children and young people. It outlines our members’ respective rights and responsibilities when participating in any activities run by or associated with Maccabi. Awarded because of Belinda’s extensive roll out and her follow up and administration of MPP in WA. Belinda is Vice President of Maccabi WA and is scrupulous with making sure all clubs have completed their MPP.

George Cohen Jewish Sportsperson of the Year Recipient - Jason Rhine triathlon 

Jason placed 4th in Triathlon Sprint World Championship only 32 seconds behind 1st place. A winner of the George Cohen memorial trophy and Maccabiah competitor in triathlon where he achieved a 3rd place. He has represented Australia in World championship events in London, Auckland and the Sunshine Coast. Jason is a five time winner of the State Triathlon WA Triathlete of the Year award, Jason had qualified during the year for the Australian team in the 30-34 age groups. The sprint course is: swim 750m/Bike 20km/Run 5km.

Jason achieved an outstanding 3rd fastest time in the event, however was placed 4th as the competitors from GBR and NZL crossed the line in a photo finish draw. Jason’s time was 59.46 seconds only 32 sec behind the winners and 16 sec behind the 3rd place getter.



Maccabi WA on facebook
North Perth Bendigo Bank


Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news