State News

Back to News

Maccabi Victoria 2019 AGM

Posted: 22-Aug-2019 by Maccabi VIC

Over 50 people, including Maccabi Victoria club representatives, Life Members, Hall of Fame Legends & Members, MAI & MV Board and Foundation members, attended the 2019 Maccabi Victoria AGM held on Wednesday 14 August at the Maccabi Victoria Office.

Glen Kanevsky (Treasurer), Anita Bartfeld (Board Member), Kate Perlstein (Board Member), Rochelle Rothfield (Board Member), and Mark Waters (Board Member), stepped down from the Board. Brian thanked the outgoing Board Members, for their outstanding contributions to the Board.

Election of Officers: Joel Queit (Treasurer), Janine Baum (Board Member), Caryn Kave (Board Member), Sheiny New (Board Member) and Sharon Roseman (Board member) were elected onto the board unopposed.

Brian Swersky (President), Dean Mohr (Vice President), Sam Strunin (Secretary) remain on the Board for the second of their two year terms.    

Michael Sharp was re-appointed as Honorary Solicitor and Hilton Miller as Auditor.

Dale Smorgon, (new Chair of the Maccabi Victoria Sports Foundation) presented the MVSF Report for 2019. Dale presented inaugural MVSF Chair, Ian Davis, with a beautiful plaque in recognition of his role as Chairman of the Maccabi Victoria Sports Foundation for 16 years.  Ian’s  dedication and passion for connecting our Jewish community through sport is greatly valued.

Jeff Sher (President, MAI) delivered his 2019 MAI report and presented a plaque to  Sam Gamsu, to acknowledge his outstanding work and tireless commitment as General Manager of the Australian delegation to the 14th Pan American Games in July 2019,

A few items of General Business were covered, and the 2019 AGM was over for another year.

Please click here to read MacVic President, Brian Swersky’s Report.

Sign Up to Receive our E-Newsletter
Link to Maccabi Victoria's FACEBOOK page