Results from event held 8th December at Heffron


Race report 8 December 2013

Thanks to all who turned up for the race on Sunday. A special welcome to our new members, Josh  Allen, Dov Cacoub and Loren Robinson, who joined on the day.
Thank you to all members who helped on the day.

The weather was perfect for our first triathlon of the season. We had a total of 39 competitors in the different categories.

In the open men (27 triathletes) it was a close tussle between Norman Pool Buoy Abel and Alan Rubinstein in the swim with the two coming out almost together well ahead of a close group comprising Craig Pager, Josh Allen , Alan Kaplan, Gad Krebs (later pulled out with puncture),Mark Baker and Daniel Butt.

Craig Pager soon passed the duo in the bike and posted the fastest bike time of the day (33.53). Notable rides of the day include Alan Greenstein (second fastest on day 35.12), Dov Cacoub (36.38) and Steven Madeisky (37.02 PB on bike by over 2 minutes). At the end of the bike leg Craig had a good lead over Alan Rubinstein and Norman Abel followed by Alan Kaplan (nursing his hamstring), Mark Baker ,Joel Bloom and Mark Haber.

Craig continued his ascendancy on the run posting a brilliant 18.37 over the 5km to finish far in front of second placed Alan Rubinstein (21.18). Alan Kaplan did enough to come in third with Mark Baker and Norman Abel close behind.

There were two competitors in the open women. New member Lauren Robinson did a very credible performance in all disciplines to take the honours and shows some serious promise in the future.

Jono Amoils took out the young boys event ahead of Ari Katz. Marla Falvey took out the young girls event over Eve Lewis in the closest finish of the day. (only 1 second separated them at the end). Judd Katz won the older boys event ahead of Noah Lewis, Adam Amoils and Jesse Lewis. Special mention has to go to Judd's swim. His pace of 1.39/100m was the third fastest overall. Gabrielle Cohen won the older girls race( you can only beat who turns up on the day)

The next event is on the 12th January and I encourage all those who are not away to attend and welcome any new or old members who have not turned up.

Alan Kaplan