Club News

Back to News

Yetty Bennett Memorial Tournament - Results

Posted: 06-Aug-2014 by Tenpin Super League

By Evelyn Rose

On Sunday, 3rd August, 2014 Maccabi Tenpin Super League held its annual Yetty Bennett Memorial Tournament at Manhattan Super Bowl, Mascot. Five ladies and seven men bowled 6 games plus handicap to qualify for the top three positions.
After the first two block bowled, the top three were Maxine Brem, Fiona Rothman and Deidre Libbert in the ladies division. In the men’s division were Ben Alexander, Tony Faust and Jai Bellamy.  High games scratch bowled were from Ben Alexander 199; Jai Bellamy 225 and Tony Faust 182.

After the second two block bowled, the top three had change to Deidre Libbert, Fiona Rothman and Maxine Brem in the ladies division and the men’s division were Mark Katz; Andrew Drylie and Tony Faust.   High games scratch bowled were from Jai Bellamy 225, Mark Katz 184 and Deidre Libbert 198.

In the final two block bowled in which 6 games had been bowled the final standing were Deidre Libbert in first position on 1227; Fiona Rothman in second place on 1206 and Maxine Brem in third position on 1196. In the men’s division in first position was Ben Alexander on 1194; in second place was Andrew Drylie on 1173 and Tony Faust came in third with 1158. High game scratch bowled was from Ben Alexander 203.

In the ladies stepladder playoff Fiona won with a score of 188 with handicap against Maxine with a score of 185 with handicap. Fiona then qualified to play Deidre in the final. Fiona finished the final with a 182 with handicap against Deidre’s 179 with handicap. Deidre issued a reprecharge game. Fiona was too strong and won the reprecharge with a 187 against Deidre’s 165 with handicap. 

In the men’s stepladder playoff Tony Faust won with a score of 186 with handicap against Andrew score of 182 with handicap. He then qualified to play Ben in the final. Tony was too strong for Ben in the playoff having finished with a 211 with handicap against Ben 197 with handicap. Ben issued a reprecharge and the top qualifier came through in the end with a 198 against Tony 174 with handicap.

This was Ben’s first win in this tournament and Fiona first also, having come third in last year’s tournament.

The final standing in both division were: Deidre Libbert 1227; Fiona Rothman 1206;Maxine Brem 1196; Ben Alexander 1194;Andrew Drylie 1173; Tony Faust 1158; Mark Katz 1156; Jai Bellamy 1079; Evy Rose 1077; Michelle Rothman 1075; Manny Rothman 1072 and Michael Eisenstein 1014.

A Gift Voucher was handed out to the bowler who bowled the highest score with handicap during the qualifying games in both divisions. The winners were Deidre Libbert with a 252 and Ben Alexander with a 231 plus handicap.

Lunch was provided at The Newmarket Hotel, Mascot and everyone had a good time.

Picture: All the winners. Left to right: Fiona Rothman, Ben Alexander, Deidre Libbert, Tony Faust, Maxine Brem and Andrew Drylie.


Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news