State News

Back to News

Achievements honoured at Maccabi Jewish Sports Award

Posted: 28-Mar-2017 by Maccabi NSW

On Sunday March 26th, Maccabi NSW held its annual Jewish Sports Awards for achievements in the 2016 calendar year. These awards are a celebration of Maccabi’s members, administrators & volunteers, giving recognition to the many hours of hard work and dedication from people across the organisation, both on the field and off.

More than 100 guests attended, enjoying a light dinner and catching up with old & new friends before MC Brad Rosen got things underway. Maccabi NSW President Danny Hochberg gave the welcome address and presented the first awards.

Special guest Kevin Lisch (Sydney Kings star & Aussie Boomer) gave the audience some frank & interesting insights into life as a professional sportsperson, including his experience at the Rio Olympics.

Another highlight of the evening was a short interview with a couple of high profile Jewish sportspeople – Olympic 400m finalist Steve Solomon and Waratahs Rugby player David Horwitz, both of whom were nominated for Jewish Sportsman of the Year.

In the Maccabi Club Awards, Team of the Year went to the U/11 Girls Maccabi Magic Soccer team, while Netball took out Club of the Year.

As for the winners of the major categories of Jewish sportspeople of the year, Isabella Coghlan (Swimming/Surf Lifesaving) and Matthew Sharp (Water Polo) won the Junior Awards, with Dafna Orbach (Lawn Bowls) & Michael Besser (Triathlon) both retaining the Masters trophies. Jessica Fox (Slalom Kayak) once again won Sportswoman of the Year while Adam Kellerman (Wheelchair Tennis) won Sportsman of the Year. Todd Greenberg was named Administrator of the year.

A fun night was had by all, special thanks to our Awards Night patrons Tom & Faye York.

Congratulations to all Award winners & nominees, a full listing of award winners is below.

David Selinger Award: Outstanding Sportsmanship at Perth Carnival 2017 –

Outstanding Male Sportsperson: Dylan Melnick
Outstanding Female Sportsperson: Nicola Herzberg

Youth Leadership Award: Winner: Social Mixed Netball Committee (Ella Lobelson, Shayna Slotar, Daniella Drutman, Michael Puterflam)

Maccabi Club Awards (for Maccabi Members)

Junior Club Sportswoman Award Winner: Lara Kaplan

Junior Club Sportsman Award Winner: BJ Shapiro

Masters Club Sportswoman Winner: Dafna Orbach

Masters Club Sportsman Winner: Haim Gale

Opens Club Sportsman Winner: Robbie Ezekiel

Tom & Faye York - Team of the Year Winner: Maccabi Magic U11 Girls - Football

Australian Jewish News - Club of the Year Winner: Maccabi Netball Club

Louis Platus OAM Trophy: Club Administrator of the Year Winner: Lauren Ehrlich


NSW Jewish Sports Awards (for all sportspeople, regardless of Club membership)

Nachum Opit Memorial Trophy: Junior Sportswoman of the Year Winner: Isabella Coghlan

Leo Kellerman Trophy: Junior Sportsman of the Year Winner: Matthew Sharp

NSW Jewish Board of Deputies Award: Administrator of the Year Winner: Todd Greenberg

Phyllis Glasser Trophy: Masters Sportswoman of the Year Winner: Dafna Orbach

Percy Weinstein Memorial Trophy: Masters Sportsman of the Year Winner: Michael Besser

Mick Brandon Trophy: Sportswoman of the Year Winner: Jessica Fox

Lou Rose MBE Trophy: Sportsman of the Year Winner: Adam Kellerman


Maccabi Australia - National Awards

Note – once state winners are selected, the winners of each category from state level become the nominees for the national awards. A selection committee from Maccabi Australia then decide on the winner of the Maccabi Australia National Awards.

The names listed below were selected as winners of the National award in their respective category –

Outstanding Maccabi Junior Sportswoman of the Year Lara Kaplan

Outstanding Maccabi Sportsman of the Year Robbie Ezekiel

Outstanding Maccabi Masters Sportswoman of the Year Dafna Orbach

Outstanding Jewish Sportswoman of the Year Jessica Fox

President’s Award for representing Australia at the 2016 Rio Paralympics: Adam Kellerman

Carnival 2020


Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news