State News

Back to News

Maccabi NSW Awards Night - a great success!

Posted: 03-May-2016 by Maccabi NSW

On May 1st, Maccabi NSW held its annual Jewish Sports Awards for achievements in the 2015 calendar year. These awards are a celebration of Maccabi’s members, administrators & volunteers, giving recognition to the many hours of hard work and dedication from people across the organisation, both on the field and off.

More than 100 guests attended, enjoying a light dinner and catching up with old & new friends before MC Anthony Goodridge got things underway. Maccabi NSW President Danny Hochberg gave the welcome address and presented the first awards.

Special guest Bryan Fletcher entertained everyone with humorous stories from his rugby league career and from his current role as a Fox Sports panellist.

A highlight of the evening was a presentation from past Presidents to recognise the efforts & long service of Mick Vasin as he has stepped down as CEO after 18 years in the role. It was a touching and well deserved tribute. Mick will continue with Maccabi as Sports Officer.

A fun night was had by all, special thanks to our Awards Night patron Tom York for sponsoring the event.

Congratulations to all Award winners & nominees, a full listing of award winners is below.

David Selinger Award: Outstanding Sportsmanship at Sydney Carnival 2016 –

  • Outstanding Male Sportsperson: Jesse Hirschowitz
  • Outstanding Female Sportsperson: Lila Harrity

Youth Leadership Award: Winner: David Cohen

Junior Club Sportswoman Award Winner: Lara Kaplan

Junior Club Sportsman Award Winner: Ethan De Melo

Masters Club Sportswoman Winner: Dafna Orbach

Opens Club Sportsman Winner: Robbie Ezekiel

Tom & Faye York - Team of the Year Winner: Maccabi U12 Boys – Futsal

Australian Jewish News - Club of the Year Winner: Maccabi-Hakoah Football Club

Nachum Opit Memorial Trophy: Junior Sportswoman of the Year Winner: Raelle Freinkel

Leo Kellerman Trophy: Junior Sportsman of the Year Winner: Ryan Blumberg

Louis Platus OAM Trophy: Club Administrator of the Year Winner: Darron Lonstein (Hakoah)

NSW Jewish Board of Deputies Award: Administrator of the Year Winner: Justin Shelton

Phyllis Glasser Trophy: Masters Sportswoman of the Year Winner: Dafna Orbach

Percy Weinstein Memorial Trophy: Masters Sportsman of the Year Winner: Michael Besser

Mick Brandon Trophy: Sportswoman of the Year Winner: Jessica Fox

Lou Rose MBE Trophy: Sportsman of the Year Winner: David Horwitz



Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news